Chapter 5.15, Generation 5

Chapter 5.15 – Lawyer up

-Caroline-

“Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you. Happy birthday, dear Elijah. Happy birthday to you.”

My son stood in front of the table with his birthday cake with six candles on top and listened to all of us singing to him.

“Make a wish, baby.” I reminded him, holding a phone to record this moment.

He took a pause before he blew at the candles and smiled proudly when they all went off at once.

Everyone clapped and cheered making Elijah so happy.

“Let’s open the gifts.” Mom suggested and all the children gathered around the table that had all the wrapped presents on it. Elijah only wanted to invite a few friends from his class so we kept this birthday party small.

All the children sat on the couches in the living room and watched. My dad was helping Elijah open the first one when the door bell rang.

“I’ll get it.” I opened the front door and stood there in shock.

It took me a few seconds to recognize him but it was definitely him.

“What do you want?” I said defensively.

“I want to see him.”

“No. You can’t. You can’t just walk in here six years later and expect me to be ok with it.”

“He’s my son, Caroline. I have rights.” He insisted.

“You gave up your rights when you found out I’m pregnant and left me, Mike. You left both of us.”

“I know, I’m sorry. I wasn’t ready then.”

“Neither was I and I made it work. I gotta go, we are in the middle of his birthday party.” I wanted to shut the door but he put his hand up, holding it open.

“If you close the door on me now, I will take you to court.”

“You do that then because you are not coming in here and ruining his day.”

“Suit yourself.” He said through his teeth, angry that things didn’t go his way, but he finally let me close the door.

I leaned against it and inhaled deeply, taking a moment to recollect myself.

My son noticed me a ran to me.

“Why aren’t you opening presents with me, mommy?” He asked sadly.

It broke my heart that he would think I don’t want to be a part of it. Mike was ruining his party even when I didn’t let him in.

“I’m sorry, sweetie.” I stroke his cheek and pulled him into a hug. “Let’s go see what’s in the biggest present, hm?”

We sat on the couch and he started unwrapping. I knew I have to do everything in my power to stop Mike.

The only person I could think of that could be any help in this matter was Jimmy.

He moved back to Hillside after his brother’s sudden death to be with his mother in the difficult situation. He finished his law degree at University of Summerset and even got an associate position in a local law firm.

I went to visit him the same afternoon as this isn’t something I was willing to wait on.

“Caroline.” He welcomed me warmly. “To what do I own the pleasure?”

“I need your help, Jimmy.” I cut to the chase.

“Come in.” He offered me a seat at their dining room table. “Coffee?”

I shook my head and sat down. “Mike showed up at my house earlier today wanting to see Elijah.”

“Mike?” Jimmy said, surprised, and took a seat across from me. “Your ex?”

“Yes.” I confirmed. “You’re a lawyer, Jimmy. Tell me what to do. He threatened me with a court if I don’t let him see Elijah and…”

“Shh, it’s ok. We’ll figure it out.” He was keeping a calm voice and reached for my hand. “I don’t do family law but I can get you in touch with someone who does.”

“Thank you.” I smiled softly.

“The guy haven’t even met his son and now he wants to waltz into his life and start over like nothing happened? No way I’m letting that happen.” He pulled his phone out of his pocket and dialed a number. “Peter! Hi, how’s it going?….good, good. Listen my friend here is having some trouble with her ex, do you think you could help us out?….Awesome….Tomorrow’s perfect!….Two o’clock? Ok, she’ll be there.”

“Will you come with me?” I asked hopefully.

“Of course I will.”

“You’re the best. Thank you.”

Jimmy smiled. “You know I’d do anything for you.”

-Jimmy-

We had a quick sit down with my college friend’s father, Peter Farley, in his Summerset office.

We were walking through the hallway, Caroline’s high heels clapping on the expensive stone floor.

“Look at this place.” She leaned closer.”There is no way I’m ever gonna be able to afford this guy.”

“Don’t worry about it. He owes me.”

“What did you do for him?”

“Let’s say I helped his son in a really bad situation back in college.”

The secretary let us into Peter’s office, he listen to Caroline’s story and looked over some paperwork.

“So since he’s not even on the birth certificate he has no legal rights.” He said after he listened to Caroline explain the situation. “Now if he’s serious about wanting to be involved in your son’s life, he can obtain a court order establishing paternity.”

Caroline listened carefully and he continued.

“But considering the fact that he hasn’t shown any interest until yesterday I don’t expect him going forward with it as this would not only give him the rights for visitations and possible partial custody, he would also be required to pay you child support.”

“Unfortunately money won’t be an issue for Mike.”

“We see this all the time, miss Reece.” Peter assured her. “Nine out of ten times it’s a power move from the father. Don’t let it ruin your Thanksgiving.”

Caroline nodded but I could tell she wasn’t convinced and this was really stressing her out.

I put my hand on hers and squeezed it gently. “We’ll get through it.”

Peter handed her his business card. “If he contacts you or comes to your home again, give him my number, have his lawyer contact me and we can all sit down. You don’t engage with him from now on, but if he sends you any text messages or emails, make sure you don’t delete anything just in case we have to go to court.”

“Ok.”

“Everything will be alright.” He smiled at her and stood up to shake her hand. “It was nice to meet you, call me if anything happens.”

“Thank you.” Caroline said gratefully.

“Thanks, Peter. I owe you one…” I also shook his hand. “Say hello to Brendon from me.”

We were driving through the city when my phone rang.

Caroline looked at the phone that was sitting in the phone holder under the radio. “It’s Leah.”

I tapped on the greet button. “Hey.”

“Hi. You’re coming for Thanksgiving, right?”

“Yea?”

“Oh good, mom wasn’t sure. I’ll tell Elliott to get the good beer. Bye, see you Thursday.”

“Bye.” I said even though I knew she already hung up.

Probably running to do the next thing. My sister always liked to stay busy, but every since our brother passed, I notice it even more.

“Leah’s hosting Thanksgiving with a three month old baby?” Caroline said with an admiration. “Wow. When Elijah was this young, I was barely able to find the time to take a shower.”

I didn’t understand the self criticism that I heard in her voice.

“Don’t forget you did it all without a partner while also going to school.” I reminded her. “Give yourself some credit, Car. You’re amazing.”

“Well thank you.” She smiled. “Not just for saying that but for helping me with the situation with Mike. How can I repay you?”

“Hmmm, let me think.” I teased her. “Oh I know! You can have dinner with me once this is over.”

↓ ↓ ↓  birthday party photos ↓ ↓ ↓ 

Leave a comment