Chapter 5.03, Chapters, Generation 5

Chapter 5.03 – Surprise Visit

-Caroline-

Shortly after I came back to Hillside I met with Emmalee and told her everything. I didn’t want to tell her the big news over the phone.

“You’re kidding, right?!” was her initial reaction.

“Nope.” I shook my head. “I’m going to have a baby. I know it’s crazy, but considering my medical history, this could be my only chance to be a mom.”

“No I get it. It’s just…I can’t get over it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy for you if you are happy.”

“I am actually. It was terrifying at first but after I told my parents and saw the ultrasound, everything else is…not important.”

My best friend was listening to me with a smile on her face. “That’s so amazing, Car. I can’t wait to see you as a mom and for your bump to show.”

I put my hand on my stomach and looked down. “Me too.”

Honestly, I was quite scared of the weight gain that is going to happen. Even though I’ve been doing great with maintaining a healthy weight for the past year, I’m worried that I will go crazy once I see the number on the scale go up.

“So what is new here in Hillside?” I asked.

“Nothing much. Jimmy is in California law school, Leah moved in with Elliot and Caleb and I are doing great. Actually, I have and audition tomorrow in the local theatre for a role in the Swan lake ballet. It’s nothing special, just a small theater, but it would be better than doing nothing. I don’t dance much since I’m out of high school and I really miss it.”

“That would be great, Em. I really hope you get it, I would definitely go see it.”

“We’ll see.” She downplayed it, but I could tell it mattered to her a lot. “I’m so happy you’re back home. I missed you so much.”

“I missed you too.” I leaned in for a hug. My life isn’t turning the way I thought it would, but everything will work out at the end. I’m sure of it.

After hours of chatting with Emmalee, I walked back home and as I was getting closer to my house, I noticed two figures on our front lawn.

I had no idea who they were until I was close enough. I only recognized one of them – Mike. The other man was older and well dressed. I assumed it was his father.

What are they doing here?

“Mike?” I said when I entered our property. “What are you doing here?”

“Hey Caroline.” My ex-boyfriend replied. “This is my father.”

“Nice to meet you, Caroline.” The man said politely and stretched out his right hand. My gut was telling me they are not here to have a nice chat so I refused to shake his hand.

When I stayed quiet, the man continued and confirmed my concern. “So it got to my attention that you are carrying my son’s child. I think we all agree that it is not the smartest move to continue with the pregnancy.”

I scoffed. “Actually, we don’t all agree. I’ve made my decision and I’m keeping the baby.”

“Perhaps there is something I can do or, offer should I say, to change your mind?”

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing and took me a second to respond. “Are you offering me money?!” I turned to Mike who was just standing there with hands in his pockets. “Are you seriously that pathetic that you bring your father to pay me off because you got me pregnant and don’t want to take responsibility?”

My voice was pretty loud at that point which made my father to came out of the house. “Caroline? What is going on here? Who are these men?”

“Dad, this is Mike. My ex-boyfriend and this is his father who just offered to pay me off to get an abortion!” I was on the verge of crying so I was glad my dad came outside.

“Excuse me?” Dad turned to the older man angrily. “How dare you even suggest something like this?! Your son and my daughter made a mistake that cannot be fixed with money. Caroline decided to keep the baby and me and my wife will do everything we can to help her. If your son doesn’t want to be involved in his child’s life, that is his decision. We can’t force him, but there is no way I will let him or you disrespect my daughter this way.”

“Sir.” Mike’s father tried to squeeze a word in but my my dad wouldn’t let him.

“Now get out of my property before I call the police and never show your faces here again. Do you understand?”

They walked to their expensive car, that was parked in front of our house, without trying to argue what was said. I was grateful my dad heard me and stepped in. I couldn’t fight for myself this way. Hopefully I will be able to fight for my child in the future when I need to.

“Thanks, dad.” I said with a shaky voice.

“Don’t thank me, honey.” Dad pulled me in for a hug. “If they ever show up again, I will kick their asses.”

I chuckled. “I don’t think they’re coming back.”

-Emmett-

It has been over a week since Melissa and I went to the clinic and if things were awkward between us before, the whole pregnancy and abortion made it even worse. She doesn’t talk to me or even look at me.

The passed two days she wasn’t at school so I decided to stop by her house on my way home, just to check on her. Hopefully she doesn’t have any post abortion complications.

Melissa looked surprised when she opened the door. “Emmett? What’s up?”

“I was worried about you, are you ok?”

“Yea, why wouldn’t I be?”

“I didn’t see you at school so I wanted to make sure that you’re feeling good. Can I come in?”

She hesitated for a second but then let me into the house. I followed her upstairs to her room. I noticed a bunch of boxes in the living room and didn’t think much of it but when we entered her room there were boxes everywhere as well. She’s clearly packing.

“What’s with all the boxes?”

“Yea that….I was gonna tell you…we are moving to Bridgeport. My dad got a job offer and decided to take it. My collage is there so it’s a good opportunity.”

“Wow. That’s cool…I guess….when are you leaving?”

“This Sunday, actually.”

“What about graduation?”

“My parents are working it out with the school. We only have a month left so they will probably let me graduate early.”

I nodded and chuckled nervously. “It will be weird without you.”

“We’d have to say goodbye after summer anyway.”

“I know. I just…I’ll miss you.”

She looked at me with a sad smile on her face and grabbed my hands. “I will miss you too. I know things have been weird between us lately but that doesn’t change the fact that you were my best friend for many many years.”

I didn’t know what to say. I just hugged her. “We’ll stay in touch.”

Melissa nodded but I think we both knew that this was our final goodbye. To much has happened between us and if she leaves now, there is no way we can fix this friendship.

“I will never forget you, Emmett.”

“I will never forget you either.”

-Emmalee-

The day of my audition arrived. I trained for weeks to get the part and I was extremely nervous to get in front of the ballet director and his team.

I took a deep breath, stepped on the stage and danced my heart out…

A/N: Sorry it took so long to post this chapter. I have a lot going on in my life right now. It’s shorter and not much has happened but soon we will have a time skip and things will take an interesting turn! 🙂

1 thought on “Chapter 5.03 – Surprise Visit”

Leave a comment